Dreamers redefine “American”

Dreamers redefine “American”

Originally published by Salon

Journalist Laura Wides-Muñoz, who has covered immigration for over two decades, joins Salon’s Amanda Marcotte to share personal stories of five undocumented immigrants she chronicles in her new book “The Making of a Dream.” “One of the things that I wanted to show in the book was how many different perspectives there are within a movement. It’s not this unfiltered voice. It never has been,” Wides-Muñoz said. According to Wides-Muñoz, who is also vice president for editorial strategy at Fusion TV, despite what side you fall on with the DACA debate, her book aims to pressure readers to reconsider the definition of “American.” Check out the video above to hear more on the future of DACA and why Dreamers’ voices are an important piece of understanding the complex legislative issue. Tune into SalonTV's live shows, ["Salon Talks"]( https://video.salon.com/p/lzcPCDNc) and ["Salon Stage"]( https://video.salon.com/p/5n0BV6Ub), daily at noon ET / 9 a.m. PT and 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT, streaming live on [Salon]( https://video.salon.com/), [Facebook]( https://www.facebook.com/pg/salon/videos/) and [Periscope]( https://www.pscp.tv/Salon).

Read more:http://jw.salon.com/previews/9lusXrrv

unitedwestay

Related Articles

Kesha Stands With DREAMers in New Video for ‘Hymn’: Watch

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Close
Close

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Close

Close
%d bloggers like this: