Fear of Failure / Making History / Stories

Terremoto 502

terremoto

My mother was already in the States and I missed her, but I had started my DJ career in Guatemala. Mom had made her move when I was only seven, leaving me in the care of my older sister. She kept asking me to join her and I finally relented because I’m not sure how you ever really say no to your mother. Shortly after, my mother arranged for a coyote to contact me. It was hard to leave my sister who had helped raise me. I faced a long, hard journey and knew anything could happen. I walked from Guatemala to Tapachula, Mexico. It took me a day and a half. I wore the soles off my shoes. So by foot and on a train, I made my way. Eventually I crossed the border at Tijuana in 2003. I was 20 in a new country with a new life.

Now my family is together except for my older sister. I haven’t seen her in 12 years. I have four brothers. Two were born here. My mom is a naturalized U.S. citizen and she petitioned for legal status for my older brother. For me to gain legal residency, I would have to return to Guatemala and wait for what could be years to enter legally. I might also be penalized for originally entering the country illegally. I wasn’t eligible for DACA. My only real hope is comprehensive immigration reform. Now that I’m a father myself, I’m more determined than ever to be here for my boy since I missed this as a child. I think I have a lot to offer my son, my family and my artistic community. I continue to pursue the DJ career I began in Guatemala. I focus my energy on my music and videos and growing my audience. I just hope I can one day become a U.S. citizen and continue to contribute my talent and dreams.